Beauty

The Cruelty-Free Switch

Somehow I have gone through 25, almost 26, years of my life blissfully unaware of what exactly it means when a product is or is not “cruelty-free.” I don’t know where the sudden resolve to change the way I look at this kind of thing came from, but it did and I am jumping full force into the world of cruelty-free products… or at least, I’m trying to.

I’m not going to preach about why I’m doing this or why you should… clearly there is enough information out there if you want to do this, and I am in no way an expert on every single product in existence. However, I am making some changes. So I’m gonna skip the “why” part and just jump right into the “what.”

And oh mylanta, there are a lot of whats.

I never realized how many products I was purchasing from brands that are not cruelty-free. And when I say cruelty-free I mean, completely. None of that “we don’t test on animals except where required by law.” I want to only use products that do not test on animals, and if it is required by law somewhere (like China) I want to use brands that do not sell their products in those locations.

With that criteria in place, here’s what I know I personally need to look into replacing.

  1. Face wash and moisturizer
  2. Shampoo and conditioner
  3. Body lotion
  4. Toothpaste
  5. Deodorant
  6. Shave gel
  7. Makeup wipes/remover
  8. Dry shampoo
  9. Chapstick/Lip balm
  10. Mouthwash
  11. Sunscreen
  12. Hair dye
  13. Eyeliner
  14. Bb cream
  15. Concealer

Luckily I have a lot of products from brands like Too Faced, Urban Decay, Kat Von D, and a personal fave, Colourpop (bless those liquid lipsticks) which are all completely cruelty-free. But after doing my research, CLEARLY I have found plenty of things in my cabinets that shouldn’t have been there.

This all being said, this is not going to be a new “thing” I blog about often. But I wanted to put it out in the world to help hold myself accountable for the change and to encourage anyone who is considering doing this but isn’t sure about it. It will not be as hard as it may seem, there is plenty of information out there to help you.

And if you are someone who has knowledge in this area, if you wanna go ahead and recommend some products… please share them with me.

Alright, well I’ve got some shopping to do. Talk to ya’ll soon!

xoxo,

Lindsey

3 thoughts on “The Cruelty-Free Switch

  1. I love this idea. It’s something I’ve wanted to do as well. I have a lot of makeup that is NOT cruelty-free, and I’m not in the financial place to waste it and throw it out because the money is already spent. But I also want to make the switch for any future purchases. 🙂 keep it up, girl.

    Like

    1. Exactly how I see it! If I had the funds to replace everything at once, I would, but instead I’m gonna start small and start incorporating new brands as it comes time to “refill” or repurchase certain items. Obviously it’s not like throwing out my face wash is going to take the money back from the company I purchased it from. You have to let me know how it goes for you, especially if you find any really good products! I’m always down for a good recommendation. 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

